jump to navigation

Rendezvous With Destiny February 24, 2007

Posted by Manuel in Uncategorized.
trackback

Rendezvous With Destiny, originally uploaded by marrngtn (Manuel).

Well,

I’m off to Jacksonville tonight. I will venture into the darkness and head south. I hope to arrive by around 1PM. The first stop will be Walmart to pickup a fishing license for a week.

My dad will be 84 on the 28th and we celebrated his birthday last year with a trip out to the ocean to spend some father and son time together.

Every year that goes by I treasure the time spent more and more. More and more we are less father and son and more men connected by blood, history and love. I would trade these days for nothing. I often wish that I had made more room in my life for a son of my own. But that was not meant to be. So with me there will end a long history of men in my family being men. I will see the end of my fathers days, my favorite uncle and both of my brothers if age and chronology are departure points for each of us.

The generation here and now seems to have no love for each other except for the girls. They afre learning from the examples that they see in my sisters who learned from my mom and her sister.

But I will rejoice in each day as it comes and every day I have with them all.

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face;
the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,
may God hold you in the palm of His hand.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

