jump to navigation

Pardom My MIA Status September 21, 2006

Posted by Manuel in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’ve been MIA for almost two weeks now….

My Aunt passed on 9/7/2006.  I got to a chance to see her over the Labor Day Weekend.  My sister and I  hit the road at 5AM to meet my dad in Pittsburgh, PA.  Here is a picture of them together:
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
My dad is the last of the Mohican’s.  I often wonder about how small his world becomes everyday.  All of his Friends(WW II, Childhood, Police Force) and now siblings have all passed.

He and my mom and pretty much sole survivors of their circle of friends and acquaintances.  It even more odd that they are no longer married, they divorced after 40 years of marriage, but now talk to each other out of a need for familiarity and shared experience.

My aunt ashes will be placed at our family cemetery this weekend.  She will be back home on the red soil of Virginia.  There are 6 generations of my family buried at the family church.  My great great grandfather who was born in 1844 is buried there.

I am so thankful that my uncle, the one I often visit, who actually is my great/grand uncle, has been a lifesaver.  He has taken care of cleaning up the cemetery around my grand parents grave where my aunts ashes will be placed.  He just turned 71.  I am so connected and blessed to have the family that I do.

I spoke with my brother tonight and I think he really wishes he was connected.  He has so much going in his life.  I hope he slows down. 

You know since my cousin Butch passed in July of last year it has been a non stop series of funerals.  Too many………

On a personal note, I have started a journey to get back into my life.  Life is not a spectator sport.  So, I have embarked upon a physical fitness regimen.  A marvelous young woman thinker who’s page I often read has really inspired me.   I’ve been getting up at 4:50 AM and walking every morning except for those mornings after I go to the gym.  I’m participating in a study at commercial gym in Baltimore.  It’s a great facility.  I thinking about taking a kayaking class so I can hang out with a friend in Washington State that seems to be an expert.  It really is a super facility and I look forward to the next few months of participating in the study.

Well, thats enough of me blathering on and on about nothing.

Oh I almost forgot, Saturday morning before the funeral I’ll be off to a little country church for their annual apple butter festival.   They start at 4AM cooking bushels of apple for their annual fund raiser.  If you ain’t ever had home made apple butter you don’t know what you’ve been missing.  I’ll sample a little for everybody and let you know how it came out.

Comments»

1. shyshy - September 22, 2006

I am greatly sorry for you and your families loss.

2. Anonymous - September 22, 2006

LOL…See, I want my own sample.

Sorry to hear about your loss.

Excited to see your new routine. Do you feel you have more energy now? Keep a sister posted on the kayaking. I am always looking for a way to cross train.

Keep your head up!

Kimmie


Leave a Reply

