jump to navigation

Farming 102 Cow and Calf Separation December 28, 2005

Posted by Manuel in Uncategorized.
trackback

Sorry But no pictures today.

I’m back in Virginia at my uncles farm using my phone to post this entry.

We brought 7 medium sized calves over from the mountain grazing pastures to the main farm.

It was the craziest thing I had ever seen. My uncle was actually able to call the cows from about a mile away. He gave a couple of yelps, they answered, he gave a couple more and they came a running. They immediately stopped dead in their tracks when they saw me at the river bottom. We waited for all the stragglers, he gave another yelp and told me to start hiking back up the hillside. I couldn’t believe they followed me step for step. They all walked right into the coral where we had the trailer waiting.

Well my thumbs are tired of writing.

ttyl

Comments»

1. Sylvi, a.k.a. Bambolina or simply, The Bam - December 28, 2005

I had my steer trained to come to the rattle of grain in a coffee can. He could hear that from an amazing distance.

2. Anonymous - December 29, 2005

I actually grew up on a farm. My fathers cows respond to him as if they are his savior. My parents often go to market and buy young calves that they have to bottle feed. The last one my mother got extremely attached too and named. Leroy was purchased with the intent to be slaughtered. I called home one day and my mother was extremely depressed because my father had walked in and told it was time. Needless to say…last time I went home, I could not eat any of the beef being served. Leroy was a very friendly cow. lol

3. Anonymous - December 29, 2005

Ummm…Im sitting at a keyboard having typing issues. Hope you can figure out what I meant. lol


Leave a Reply

