jump to navigation

Back from the Auction November 14, 2005

Posted by Manuel in Uncategorized.
trackback
1131984518-sc-76

Hey made it back in one piece.

We sold a 982 lb heifer and bought a 1510 lb steer.  Should get about 700lbs of meat.  They are going to butcher today and let the meat hang for 14 days before cutting.

I have new respect for cattle farmers and farmers in general.  My great uncle, at 70, is an excellent teacher.  The day turned out to be a long one.  The auction was scheduled to start at 1PM on Saturday.  The volume of cattle entering the facility was so great that we didn\’t start until 4PM.

As a side note we had the chance to discuss something very special.  My cousin who is also a farmer brought cattle in to sell.  The three of us being in that facility was probably the first time 30 plus years that three men from my family, with the same last name, have been there together.  My great uncles, Angus and Thomas, and my grandfather, John Henry, use to regularly attend the auctions.  It may not mean a lot to some of you or to most of the people in my family but it was sure special to me.  To sit where they sat conducting business in the tradition of my family if only for one day.

Sorry didn\’t get a lot of pictures, had to take the ones I got with the camera phone.  Had to work in the morning and work at the auction.  Didn\’t have time to get the good camera.

Lesson Learned:

  1. A 1500lb animal that is scared and/or pissed off is nothing to take lightly.  Especially if it has 30 Inches of sharp horns on each side of its head.
  2. Family means everything to me, without it where would I be.
Comments»

1. Anonymous - November 14, 2005

Glad to see you back… Kind of miss you…*smile*.

2. Anonymous - November 14, 2005

Hey.That is great that you enjoyed the auction. And I am especially glad you were able to spend time with your family. And I must agree with lesson #2.My family means a lot to me as well. I love learning information about older generations of my family. Well enough about me LOL…Have a wonderful day.

3. Anonymous - November 14, 2005

HEY LOOKS WHO’S BACK BACK AGAIN GLAD YOUR BACK MR MAN

4. marrngtn - November 14, 2005

Yup made it back safe and sound. Ms Lady…

5. Diamond_Diva the REAL Lady Boss - November 15, 2005

Well I was born in the and I have heard all types of farming stories and down home remedies and living off the land making to with what you have….I always had a great respect and appreciation for farmers because they go out and provide the products to the market so I don’t have to go out and do it myself like my Granny and her children did…. Thank you God…Shout out ot farmers!!


Leave a Reply

